Seine-Nord Europe Canal Company

Learn more about the Seine-Nord Europe Canal

What is the Seine-Nord Europe Canal? What are its objectives and its ambition at the heart of the Region, France and Europe? 

The Canal at home

Do you want to find out about the project closest to you? Find the information that concerns you on the site of your territory.

FAQs / Dialog

About the project

The construction site has started in the Oise! Consult the Calendar section of the website, and go to the page of your territory to have more precise information closer to you. You can subscribe to news from your area and stay informed of news from the site.

All the information concerning the project and its financing can be found in the section L'essentiel du Canal.

Find the section The essentials of the Canal

The Canal lateral à l'Oise (CLO), owned by the State and managed by Voies Navigables de France (VNF), will remain open and in service throughout the duration of the CSNE works. It will ensure the maintenance of river navigation and contribute to the supply and evacuation of worksites by river.

As part of the works, the upstream reach of the CLO that follows the route of the Canal between Ribécourt-Dreslincourt and Passel, will be adapted, in width and depth, to correspond to the characteristics of a wide-gauge canal.

When the CSNE comes into service, the Oise side canal will remain passable on its downstream reach between Janville and Cambronne-lès-Ribécourt during the running-in phase of the new route.

It could then be redeveloped between the Janville lock and the Bellerive lock. To find out the intentions of the territory, VNF has started a consultation on the future of the existing canals with the communities. Several options are possible: partially or totally fill the canal while maintaining the hydraulic functions, make it shallower or narrower, maintain only a water mirror, etc. The municipalities position themselves on the scenarios that best meet their respective expectations.

The same logic guides the consultation also carried out on all the communes of Noyonnais crossed by the Canal du Nord.

Trans Oise

On site

No, a construction site is a dangerous area, you are not allowed to enter it. On the Seine-Nord Europe Canal worksites, there are:

  • Movement of trucks and construction machinery with little visibility for drivers
  • Presence of dangerous machinery and equipment
  • Falls possible (holes, objects on the ground, etc.)
  • Other hazards possible (electric shocks, drowning, falling objects, burial, explosion, dangerous products, etc.)

Find the section on Security

Sector 1 of the CSNE, which fits into the Oise valley between Compiègne and Passel, has the particularity of being autonomous for its water supply, while sectors 2, 3 and 4 are interdependent. This also makes the construction site autonomous. Work was therefore able to begin in mid-2021 on this sector, which will be open to navigation first. Sector 1 is also "functionally" autonomous, that is to say that it already brings advantages for river navigation: the boats will be able to navigate faster and will then only have one only one lock to pass, compared to two at present – ​​which represents a saving in navigation time of almost an hour and a half (including 30 minutes by reducing the time it takes to enter the lock).

Ribecourt wharf

Have you seen those yellow, green or orange nets near the Canal construction sites? They are used to delimit the different types of spaces that must be preserved or given special treatment. The orange nets surround the invasive alien species (IAS) whose cutting, if necessary, respects a protocol which makes it possible to avoid their dissemination. The yellow nets delimit fragile wetlands, and the green ones, protected natural areas, for fauna or flora.

Why do the roads near construction sites need to be cleaned?

- Works companies plan to regularly circulate a sweeper on construction sites to clean the roads after the passage of trucks. This regular cleaning of the roadway ensures the safety of road users, which is a priority for the SCSNE.

 

How are the roads cleaned?

- The water used by these sweepers must not contain too much suspended matter (sediment) to avoid, in particular, the clogging of the sweeper nozzles and to ensure its cleaning mission.

- As far as possible and as a matter of priority, the water used is non-potable water. For example, companies can take advantage of artificial ponds on the construction site, which accumulate runoff (rainwater). Over time, the water settles enough to allow impurities to settle to the bottom of the water. This allows companies to use the water from these basins.

- In the absence of a non-potable resource, companies have to use water from the urban network to avoid creating water withdrawal points. Drinking water catchments are carried out under supervised safety conditions and with the authorization of the network manager (SAUR).

 

Could we use water from the Canal Latéral à l'Oise instead?

- The answer is no, mainly for security reasons.

- Canal water contains a percentage of silt. This mud would settle on the roads, and after a few passages, the roadway would become slippery.

With regard to the primary filling of the canal and the Louette water reservoir, this will take place over a period that will include two winters.

The initial filling of the Seine-Nord Europe Canal (21,5 million m3) will take between 3 and 4 months depending on the hydrology of the Oise. For an exceptional year like 1976, the filling would extend over a period of 7 months.

Filling the Louette water reserve (14 million m3) will take about 4 months. For an exceptional year like 1976, it would rather take 5 and a half months.

The sizing criteria for the water supply plan will be presented in detail during the public inquiry prior to the environmental authorization of the canal sectors between Noyon and Aubencheul-au-Bac which is scheduled for winter 2023, after instruction , in progress, of the application file by the State services.

Still have questions?

Can't find the answer to your question on the website? Do not hesitate to contact us, we will answer you as soon as possible!

Société du Canal Seine-Nord Europe

Apprenez-en plus sur le Canal Seine-Nord Europe

Qu’est-ce que le Canal Seine-Nord Europe ? Quels sont ses objectifs et son ambition au cœur de la Région, de la France et de l’Europe ? 

Le Canal chez vous

Vous souhaitez connaître le projet au plus près de chez vous ? Retrouvez les informations qui vous concernent sur le site de votre territoire.

FAQ / Dialogue

Sur le projet

Le chantier a démarré dans l'Oise ! Consultez la rubrique Calendrier du site internet, et rendez-vous sur la page de votre territoire pour avoir une information plus précise au plus près de chez vous. Vous pourrez vous abonner aux infos de votre territoire et rester informés des nouvelles du chantier.

Toutes les informations concernant le projet et son financement se trouvent dans la rubrique L'essentiel du Canal.

Retrouvez la rubrique L'essentiel du Canal

Le Canal latéral à l’Oise (CLO), propriété de l’État et géré par Voies Navigables de France (VNF), restera ouvert et en service pendant toute la durée des travaux du CSNE. Il assurera le maintien de la navigation fluviale et contribuera à l’approvisionnement et aux évacuations des chantiers par voie fluviale.

Dans le cadre des travaux, le bief amont du CLO que suit le tracé du Canal entre Ribécourt-Dreslincourt et Passel, sera adapté, en largeur et en profondeur pour correspondre aux caractéristiques d’un canal à grand gabarit.

À la mise en service du CSNE, le canal latéral à l’Oise restera praticable sur son bief aval entre Janville et Cambronne-lès-Ribécourt pendant la phase de rodage du nouvel itinéraire.

Il pourra ensuite être réaménagé entre l’écluse de Janville et celle de Bellerive. Pour connaître les intentions du territoire, VNF a entamé une concertation sur le devenir des canaux existants avec les collectivités. Plusieurs options sont envisageables : combler partiellement ou totalement le canal en maintenant les fonctionnalités hydrauliques, le rendre moins profond ou moins large, ne maintenir qu’un miroir d’eau, etc. Les communes se positionnent sur les scénarii répondant le mieux à leurs attentes respectives.

La même logique guide la concertation également menée sur l’ensemble des communes du Noyonnais traversées par le Canal du Nord.

Trans'Oise

Sur le chantier

Non, un chantier est une zone dangereuse, vous n'avez pas le droit d'y pénétrer. Sur les chantiers du Canal Seine-Nord Europe, il y a :

  • Circulation de camions et d'engins de chantier avec peu de visibilité pour les conducteurs
  • Présence de machines et de matériels dangereux
  • Chutes possibles (trous, objets au sol...)
  • Autres dangers possibles (chocs électriques, noyade, chutes d'objets, ensevelissement, explosion, produits dangereux...)

Retrouvez la rubrique sur la Sécurité

Le secteur 1 du CSNE, qui s’insère dans la vallée de l’Oise entre Compiègne et Passel, a la particularité d’être autonome pour son alimentation en eau, alors que les secteurs 2, 3 et 4 sont, eux, interdépendants. Cela rend le chantier autonome lui aussi. Les travaux ont donc pu commencer dès le milieu de l’année 2021 sur ce secteur qui sera ouvert à la navigation en premier. Le secteur 1 est également « fonctionnellement » autonome, c’est-à-dire qu’il apporte en lui-même, déjà, des avantages pour la navigation fluviale : les bateaux pourront naviguer plus vite et n’auront alors plus qu’une seule écluse à passer, contre deux actuellement – ce qui représente un gain de temps de navigation de près d’une heure et demie (dont 30 minutes par la réduction du temps de sassée de l’écluse).

Quai de Ribécourt

Vous avez vu ces filets jaunes, verts ou orange près des chantiers du Canal ? Ils servent à délimiter les différents types d’espaces qui doivent être préservés ou faire l’objet d’un traitement particulier. Les filets orange entourent les espèces exotiques envahissantes (EEE) dont la coupe, si nécessaire, respecte un protocole qui permet d’éviter leur dissémination. Les filets jaunes délimitent des zones humides fragiles, et les verts, des zones naturelles protégées, pour la faune ou la flore.

Pourquoi les routes à proximité des chantiers doivent-elles être nettoyées ?

- Les entreprises de travaux prévoient sur les chantiers de faire circuler régulièrement une balayeuse pour nettoyer les routes après le passage des camions. Ce nettoyage régulier de la chaussée assure la sécurité des usagers de la route, qui est une priorité pour la SCSNE.

 

Comment les routes sont-elles nettoyées ?

- L’eau utilisée par ces balayeuses ne doit pas être trop chargée en matière en suspension (sédiments) pour éviter notamment l’obstruction des buses de la balayeuse et pour assurer sa mission de nettoyage.

- Dans la mesure du possible et de façon prioritaire, l’eau utilisée est de l’eau non potable. Par exemple, les entreprises peuvent profiter de bassins artificiels sur le chantier, qui accumulent des eaux de ruissellement (eaux de pluie). Avec le temps, l'eau décante suffisamment pour permettre aux impuretés de se déposer en fond de l'eau. Ce qui permet aux entreprises d'utiliser l'eau de ces bassins.

- En l’absence d’une ressource non potable, les entreprises sont amenées à utiliser de l’eau du réseau urbain pour éviter de créer des points de prélèvement d’eau. Les captages d’eau potable sont réalisées dans des conditions de sécurité encadrées et avec l'autorisation du gestionnaire du réseau (SAUR).

 

Pourrait-on utiliser plutôt l'eau du Canal Latéral à l'Oise ?

- La réponse est non, principalement pour des raisons de sécurité.

- L'eau du Canal contient un pourcentage de vase. Cette vase se déposerait sur les routes, et après quelques passages, la chaussée deviendrait glissante.

S’agissant plus du primo-remplissage du canal et de la retenue d’eau de Louette, celui-ci s’opèrera sur une période qui englobera deux hivers.

Le remplissage initial du Canal Seine-Nord Europe (21,5 millions de m3) prendra entre 3 et 4 mois et demi en fonction de l'hydrologie de l'Oise. Pour une année exceptionnelle comme 1976, le remplissage se prolongerait sur une période de 7 mois.

Le remplissage de la réserve d’eau de Louette (14 millions de m3) prendra environ 4 mois. Pour une année exceptionnelle comme 1976, il prendrait plutôt 5 mois et demi.

Les critères de dimensionnement du schéma d’alimentation eau seront présentés de manière détaillée lors de l’enquête publique préalable à l’autorisation environnementale des secteurs du canal entre Noyon et Aubencheul-au-Bac qui est prévue à l’hiver 2023, après instruction, en cours, du dossier de demande par les services de l’Etat.

Encore des questions ?

Vous ne trouvez pas de réponse à votre question sur le site internet ? N’hésitez pas à nous contacter, nous vous répondrons au plus vite !